Tags

, , ,

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all” ~ 2 Corinthians 4:17

I recently changed jobs and now I start an hour earlier. Every once in a while I’ll listen to my local Christian Talk radio station, and my new commute time coincides with a daily message from Pastor Greg Laurie.

Last week he was talking about suffering and why God allows suffering in people’s lives. He gives a few explanations and examples from the Bible; God wants your attention and wants to get you where you need to be spiritually; God wants to prepare you for something.

Pastor Laurie closes by telling a story of a burn victim. While he has recovered, he sustained burns that left permanent damage. Since his recovery, he has made it his mission to visit other burn victims in hospitals – because he knows what they’re going through and wants to be there to comfort them.

If I’m remembering the message correctly, it was this man who told Pastor Laurie “Don’t waste your pain.”

That was a powerful statement to me and it really hit home. It encouraged me to start writing this blog again. And even if these entries are only read by one person – if it makes a difference to that person, that’s all that matters.

Check out the live message at http://www.harvest.org/radio/archives/

