Tags

, , , , ,

I realized I write a lot about being gluten and dairy free, but don’t give much attention to the importance of eating a low fat diet. Both the Swank and McDougall diets stress the importance of eating less than 50 grams of fat and 10 grams of saturated fat a day. And low fat is the whole point of the diet – excluding inflammatory foods is just an extra step.

While avoiding dairy and gluten helps keep my fat intake low, I still need to be conscious of how much fat I’m eating. So the past two weeks I’ve been diligent about keeping a running tally each day. And it’s amazing how easy it is to get up to 50 grams of fat; especially if my snack at work is a handful of walnuts, almonds or pistachios.

I know this post is kind of boring and it sounds like a tedious task, but this is my health. And just like I keep track of my finances, I need to keep track of my fat too. I’m at 26 grams fat; 2 grams saturated right now. I’m allowed 24 grams more fat and 8 grams more saturated today. See, not hard 😉

