Tags

, , , , ,

Lasagna was one of my favorite meals and was my “go to” order at any Italian restaurant. But when I changed my diet, this traditionally cheese and meat-filled dish didn’t fit anymore. I never tried making it with substitute cheese; sometimes you just can’t replicate “the real thing.” However, last week I found the following recipe from Bob Greene via Rachel Ray’s website.

This Veggie Lasagna pleasantly surprised me. It’s amazing how much flavor the nut mixture contains. I really recommend a try and that’s why I’m posting.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup store-bought marinara sauce
  • 4 ounces uncooked lasagna noodles (approx. 6-8 noodles)
  • 2 cups spinach, washed thoroughly (I probably used between 3-4 cups, I like spinach)
  • 12 tomato slices (approx. 2 large tomatoes – yields 6 slices each)

How to make:

  • Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray 10×8 dish with cooking spray.
  • Combine the almonds, walnuts, onion, garlic, basil, nutmeg, salt, pepper and water in a food processor and process until smooth, about 1 minute.
  • Spread 1/2 cup of the marinara sauce on the bottom of the pan. Cover with half of the uncooked noodles (uncooked gluten-free noodles worked in this recipe!), top noodles with spinach, lay 6 tomato slices on top, cover with half of the nut mixture.
  • Repeat the layers again and transfer to oven.
  • Bake for 50 minutes, until lightly browned.
